Take Me Back

Where the streets were narrow but overflowing

with freedom and color. I can roam

in the morning when the people rose earlier than the sun.

In the evening when the people slept just as the sky was turning dark blue,

a sign that day was coming soon.

In a country where there was no sleep and too much life

Rain was always accompanied my lightning. Majestically

striking the rooftops above our umbrellas.

Take me back there across the ocean

across that sea of clouds!

Carry me home by the winds between earth and sky.

I can almost hear the language when I close my eyes.

I can almost see the city in my dreams, but

when I wake, I find myself here. And like dreams

I begin to forget day by day. Hour by hour. Minute by

minute.

Take me home. Before I forget where it is.

Leave a Reply

