Simple

 

I wish I was a little weaker. Mentally. So that I can cry

with no shame when I feel pain.

I wish I was a little weaker. Physically. So that like in the dramas

I can dramatically collapse when I want someone to catch me.

I wish I had a little less pride. But a little more confidence. So that I can not know anything

and not be afraid. So that I can ask

and not be afraid.

I wish I knew a little less. Perhaps a little less math, a little less science. So I could ask for help

help that I really need.

I wish I could thought a little less. Spoke more freely. Less thinking.

So I could be myself when I talked to someone else.

I wish I had simpler dreams. Which I already have

But too afraid to pursue.

Because society doesn’t like simple things. Simple people. Simple dreams.

 

I wish I lived a simple life. Sitting in a chair outside in the sun.

In the middle of a green field. No cars. No buildings. Except for the tiny homes dotting the plain.

I wish I had a simple house. By the beach. So every morning I could listen to the sea speak

I wish I had a simple family. A husband. Some children. Maybe a little dog.

God, O Lord,

You know the simplest way.

 

Leave a Reply

